“Explain It, Please” by Langston Hughes

02I see by the papers
What seems mighty funny to me,
The British are for freedom
But India ain’t free.
The colored weeklies tell me
In the British colonies
The White man stands on his two feet
But the Black man on his knees.
And they tell me that in Africa
The color line’s drawn tight.
So When the English holler freedom
Can it be that they are right ?
Course there’s a mighty lot of fog and smoke.
But I’m trying hard to see
How folks can have a mouth full of freedom –
And a handful of dung for me.
– The Afro American – May 31, 1941
மறுமொழியொன்றை இடுங்கள்

