You cannot accuse me of placing a wrong emphasis on varnashrama dharma

1323820474_gandhi2

Q. So long as you do not destroy varna, untouchability cannot be destroyed.

A. I do not think so. But if varnashramagoes to the dogs in the removal of untouchability, I shall not shed a tear. But what bearing has varnaas defined by me on untouchability?

Q. But the opponents of reform quote you in support.

A. That is the lot of every reformer. He will be misquoted by interested parties, but you also know that some of them want me to relinquish Hinduism. Others would banish me if they could from the Hindu fold. I have gone no-where to defend varnadharma , though for the removal of untouchability I went to Vykom. I am the author of a Congress resolution for propagation of khadi, establishment of Hindu-Muslim unity, and removal of untouchability, the three pillars of swaraj. But I have never placed establishment of varnashrama dharma as the fourth pillar. You cannot, therefore, accuse me of placing a wrong emphasis on varnashrama dharma.

Brahmin – Non – Brahmin Question “Speech at Tanjore”, 16-9-1927

2 thoughts on “You cannot accuse me of placing a wrong emphasis on varnashrama dharma

  1. Pingback: மனுதர்மம் குறித்து காந்தி | இராட்டை

  2. Pingback: “My Varnashrama” – Gandhi | இராட்டை

மறுமொழியொன்றை இடுங்கள்

