Gandhiji was operated upon for appendicitis on January 12,1924

On the night of January 12,1924, Gandhi was given morphia and was operated on for appendicitis.While the operation was going on the electricity failed on account of thunder-storm,and the operation had to be finished with the help of a hurricane lamp.Gandhi bore the operation well.The Government press communique declared on the morning of January 13,1924 “Mr.Gandhi was operated on for acute appendicitis last night”

mahatma-mahatma-gandhi-17586040-795-868

LETTER TO COL. MADDOCK
(This was also published in The Hindu, 20-1-1924 and The Searchlight, 25-1-1924)
SASSOON HOSPITAL,
Poona,
9.45 p. m., January 12,1924
DEAR COL. MADDOCK,
I know that you know the history of my illness during the past 6 months. You have been extraordinarily kind to me. You, the Surgeon-General and other medical gentlemen have come to the conclusion that any delay in performing the operation described by you to me involves considerable risk. You were kind enough to tell me that Government had authorized you to send for any of my special medical friends. I therefore suggested the names of Dr. Dalal and Dr. Jivraj Mehta. You have tried your utmost to secure their presence. But then you have not been able to get at either of them. I have the fullest confidence in you and regard being had to the serious nature of the case I would ask you please to go on with the operation without delay.
I am,
Yours sincerely
Gandhi

(The message, given to Dr. Phatak in response to anxious inquiries from all over the country, was first published in The Bombay Chronicle, 15-1-1924. Young India reproduced it with a short editorial note under the caption, “The Nation in
Agony”)

MESSAGE TO THE COUNTRY
January 14, 1924
I am deeply touched by manifestation of deep affection shown to me by my countrymen during the critical period of my health. They need have no anxiety because every possible attention is being given me by medical authorities here.
Young India, 17-1-1924

INTERVIEW TO “ THE BOMBAY CHRONICLE”
POONA,
January 19, 1924
The jail authorities cannot be blamed. Our fight must be clean.
Appendicitis is a difficult disease to diagnose. Col. Murray is one of the best men I have met. He has been very kind to me. He is conscientious, considerate and kind. I hold the highest opinion about him.
The Searchlight, 27-1-1924

மறுமொழியொன்றை இடுங்கள்

